top of page
Search

Oh Sweet Pamela...


In listening to an audio-book version of Pamela (which I had to use since I could not get my hands on a written copy), the one re-occurring thought was this: "Pamela, just leave! Do not day goodbye to the others, leave them a note if you want to leave them with the reason for your sudden departure, but be determined and leave if you do not feel safe!" Granted, this comes from the perception of a 21st century woman who does not condone staying in abusive situations, and it was shocking for me to hear of her father's response to her letters.


Where I would have been pushing for her to return home as promptly as possible, her father states that they find joy in reading her letters speaking of her turmoils, and would rather that she continues to be strong in face of the temptation than returns home. Had I been receiving her letters, I would have been of mind to go and fetch her back myself on some other pretence to bring her away from these assaults. Although she stays true to her honour, I would have been horrified after the first account of sexual violence and the abusive treatment that was laid upon her.


This is not to say that I disliked the tale, as it was definitely eventful and thus kept one's attention with all of the turmoils that were occurring. However, in looking at the events from the point of view of a friend or a parent of Pamela's, I would have been mortified to receive these correspondences.


0 comments
bottom of page